Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iTunes (12.8.3) doesn't see iPhone 6s when connected to MacBook Pro running High Sierra

I had been using iTunes to backup my iPhone but for several months at least my iPhone doesn't connect to iTunes on my MacBook Pro (15" mid-2015) running High Sierra. iPhone is a 6S running iOS 14.2. When I check System Information, there is an iPhone listed in the USB device tree, but I can't tell if it's my current phone (or someone else's that was connected at some point).

I don't want to upgrade my OS because there is software on my MacBook that I need that isn't supported by later OS versions.

I found an earlier Apple Communities thread about this topic and very similar hardware/software here but the only answer to the OP's question was to un-install and then re-install iTunes. I'm hoping there is a solution that is more simple.

To summarize:

iPhone 6S (OS 14.2) isn't seen by iTunes 12.8.3 on a mid-2015 MacBook pro Retina running macOS High Sierra (10.13.16)

Thanks for any help.Ernst

MacBook Pro Retina

Posted on Dec 28, 2020 2:24 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 29, 2020 10:24 AM

For iOS 14 you need iTunes 12.8.2.3 or better running on OS X 10.11.6 or better. See How to upgrade to OS X El Capitan - Apple Support if required.

Assuming a suitable version of iTunes is in place then in Finder use the menu item Go > Go to Folder..., copy the following text, paste it into the dialog box and press enter:

/System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/MobileDevice.framework/Versions/Current/Resources

Unlock your device and connect it to USB. Double click on MobileDeviceUpdater in the folder that has opened. It should notify you of a software update. Install it and iTunes should hopefully recognize your device.

tt2

Similar questions

9 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Dec 29, 2020 10:24 AM in response to ccciccone