Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

The Song ____Cannot Be Played Because You Are Not Signed Into Apple Music: Macbook Pro

Hello,

I have an Apple Music subscription. I cannot play half of the music I have I organized into playlists, which is a lot after years of collecting music.

I get the following message "The Song ____Cannot Be Played Because You Are Not Signed Into Apple Music."

p.s. Yes, I am signed into Apple Music.

YES, I have completed the following but nothing worked:

• I am signed in to Apple Music
  • I can listen to all the songs that don't work on my Mac on my iPhone and iPad
  • I have signed out and signed back in
  • I have restarted my Macbook Pro
  • I have run the Disk Utility tool
  • I have signed out of and signed back into iCloud

Any thoughts as to why half of Apple Music randomly stopped playing on my Macbook Pro, yet works fine on my iPhone and iPad?

Thank you in advance for your time and effort.

Shane

MacBook Pro 15″, macOS 11.1

Posted on Jan 31, 2021 3:34 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 5, 2021 10:57 AM

SOLVED AND RESOLVED 😀

The issue was ultimately solved by deleting the iTunes Media folder in Safe Mode, via Terminal.

**BACKED UP Apple Music playlists first.

A. Signed out of everything.

B. Restarted in Safe Mode.

C. Used Terminal to Delete the iTunes Media Folder.

sudo rm -r /Users/username/Music/iTunes/iTunes\ Media 

D. Restarted in normal mode.

F. Opened Apple Music and signed in + authorized the computer. The iTunes media folder repopulated after and everything worked.

7 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Feb 5, 2021 10:57 AM in response to alcheme

SOLVED AND RESOLVED 😀