Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

how to recover a deleted email

MacBook Pro 13″, macOS 11.1

Posted on Feb 10, 2021 3:25 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 10, 2021 4:15 PM

Hi Terryfromoberlin,

Sometimes, while in the Mail app., I have recovered a deleted e-mail by pressing the Command key and the Z key (="Undo") at the same time, immediately after wrongly deleting it, (OR ... "Undo" is in the "Edit" drop-down menu)

(2) You could look in the trash / bin to see if the deleted e-mail is there. (If so ... right click & "Undelete" it)

(3) If you back- up your data regularly, you may have a back-up of the e-mail (eg backed up from from Time Machine to an external Hard Drive).

I believe there may be third-party data-recovery software available, yet I have no experience with any, and do not know how safe and reliable such software may be.

Hope you recover your e-mail ok!

5 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Feb 10, 2021 4:15 PM in response to terryfromoberlin

Hi Terryfromoberlin,

Sometimes, while in the Mail app., I have recovered a deleted e-mail by pressing the Command key and the Z key (="Undo") at the same time, immediately after wrongly deleting it, (OR ... "Undo" is in the "Edit" drop-down menu)

(2) You could look in the trash / bin to see if the deleted e-mail is there. (If so ... right click & "Undelete" it)

(3) If you back- up your data regularly, you may have a back-up of the e-mail (eg backed up from from Time Machine to an external Hard Drive).

I believe there may be third-party data-recovery software available, yet I have no experience with any, and do not know how safe and reliable such software may be.

Hope you recover your e-mail ok!

Feb 10, 2021 7:27 PM in response to Stegan

Hi Stegan,

Thank you.

I'm using Big Sur.