Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Can't watch Apple TV+ movies on FireStick 4K, even though I have an Apple TV subscription

Received a year's subscription of Apple TV+ with the purchase of a new iPhone. Downloaded the app on our Amazon FireStick 4K. Signed into our iCloud account via that app.

I can see all the Apple TV+ content, but the app doesn't allow us to view it. Error message about purchases can't be made on this device. We have a subscription, but somehow it's not being recognized.

I mean, what good is this free subscription, really? I'm not about to stare at my laptop to watch TV shows and movies unless I'm traveling. And guess what? There's a global pandemic, so I'm not traveling.

Honestly, this is such a classically Apple style problem.

FireTVStick4K,

Posted on Feb 26, 2021 6:10 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 26, 2021 6:51 AM

Verify that you are signed in to the Apple TV app with the same Apple ID account that has the subscription.

Note that the subscription is not automatic, and has to be redeemed first, on your new Apple device in the TV app.

Apple TV+ features Apple Original programming. Other content in the Apple TV app is not part of that subscription, and will have to be purchased separately.

Unfortunately, the Apple TV app doesn’t allow in-app purchases on Fire TV at this time. But purchases, including subscriptions, done on other devices with the same Apple ID account, will be recognized and will be streamed on Fire TV.

7 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Feb 26, 2021 6:51 AM in response to TarlinTexas

Verify that you are signed in to the Apple TV app with the same Apple ID account that has the subscription.

Note that the subscription is not automatic, and has to be redeemed first, on your new Apple device in the TV app.