Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Mac HD seemingly disappeared from Late 2012 iMac. Cannot reinstall macOS! Please help!

Hello all,

This is my first question asked to the Apple Discussions however I'm in a fairly desperate situation. First, a bit of a backstory:

I've been using my Late 2012 iMac for just under 9 years now and have just decided to upgrade due to how slow it has gotten (it uses a 1TB SATA drive). Because I am planning to upgrade, I started to back up my data to an external hard drive. However, I decided not to use Time Machine because I wouldn't have been able to individually select files to back up. I backed up most of my machine to the drive, but while I was exporting my photos library to the external drive, my computer crashed. This was during the export, meaning some photos had gotten backed up - but not all of them. It has crashed in the past and I'd been able to repair the disk through recovery mode and/or reinstall macOS, however this time nothing I did could even launch recovery mode - and Apple support couldn't help either, suggesting I bring the machine in for repair which I did not want to do because I had just purchased a brand new machine.

I was getting the error code -2003F which apparently is related to my network, so I went out and bought an ethernet cable which actually fixed the problem. I was now able to boot the computer into recovery mode, however whenever I tried to use Catalina recovery mode, I would get the spinning rainbow ball on disk utility. So I booted into Mountain Lion recovery mode, which ran fine on my machine. However, when I attempted to reinstall OS X, there was no disk there that I could use.

According to Disk Utility, there is a disk entitled "1 TB APPLE HDD" with a sub-disk "disk1s2." There was another entry entitled "disk0" with a sub-disk "Mac OS X Base System." Repairing or verifying either of these does nothing.