Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Apple News+ Free Version

At one time I had an Apple News subscription to the Washington Post, Since I also had a digital subscription directly to the Washington Post I cancelled my Apple News subscription. Now, every time I try to read an article from the Washington Post in Apple News, Apple prompts me to "Renew" my subscription, then prompts me to log in to my digital subscription before I can read the article. This is tedious and annoying.

pipesdma has the same issue. https://discussions.apple.com/thread/251699681?login=true but it doesn't seem to have been resolved. Is there a way to make News remember that I have a non-Apple-News subscription?

iPhone SE, iOS 14

Posted on May 2, 2021 2:55 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 2, 2021 5:52 PM

rodavis wrote:

Is there a way to make News remember that I have a non-Apple-News subscription?

As the article I linked above suggests, Apple appears to rely on its own ecosystem to determine what individual channel subscriptions you have. You happened to set up your digital subscription to Washington Post outside Apple’s ecosystem, which is, of course, just fine.

But to achieve your objective, if I were in your situation, I would download and set up the iPad’s Washington Post app, enter all my subscription data there, and see if the News app picks up that information.

6 replies
Question marked as Best reply

May 2, 2021 5:52 PM in response to rodavis

rodavis wrote:

Is there a way to make News remember that I have a non-Apple-News subscription?

As the article I linked above suggests, Apple appears to rely on its own ecosystem to determine what individual channel subscriptions you have. You happened to set up your digital subscription to Washington Post outside Apple’s ecosystem, which is, of course, just fine.