Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Shortcuts (using Cmd+Shift+...?) not working anymore

Hi!

I'm relatively new to the Mac ecosystem (half a year maybe) but already had and still have a very frustrating experience involving shortcuts that just won't work anymore on my Macbook Pro (M1/Big Sur).

Several shortcuts including Cmd+Shift are affected. At the moment, Cmd+Shift+U ([Mark as read] or however it's called in English in Mail) as well as Cmd+Shift+P ([Show All Commands] in Visual Studio Code) come to mind.

I have fiddled around with the system preferences, especially for the keyboard as well as the region/language settings (I'm running a German system so I'm not 100% sure about the English terms). I have set stuff back to its defaults, added and deleted stuff, and of course restarted my machine a couple of times in the process. Nothing worked.

It's not the keyboard. It doesn't even seem to be the combination of keys. When I manually add a shortcut to the respective list in the keyboard section of the system preferences, it recognizes that I enter Cmd+Shift+U, for example. It saves and displays it. But when I want to use it in Mail, it doesn't work. (One curious detail: I added Cmd+U for the same command and it worked. It worked even after I had deleted it again, which is also not quite what I want it to do. Of course not...)