Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Download lossless ALAC file from Apple Music

I have an Apple Music Subscription on my MacBook Air (M1). Apple now offers its whole catalogue in lossless quality. I have purchased an album and it downloaded in m4a instead of alas.

Do I need to change any setting to get my download in alas (lossless)?

thanks for any pointers

MacBook Air (2020 or later)

Posted on Jun 13, 2021 3:31 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jun 13, 2021 6:25 AM

Look at Music > Preferences > Playback and the Audio Quality section. You can enable Lossless audio and set your options for streaming and downloads. In my tests so far it seems that regardless of my choices I get an HLS package that is the same size each time and presumably contains the same track in the different available resolutions. Note this is downloaded into the Apple Music folder in the media folder. You're not getting an unlocked Apple Lossless version of past purchases or matched tracks.

tt2

5 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jun 13, 2021 6:25 AM in response to rudolffischer

Look at Music > Preferences > Playback and the Audio Quality section. You can enable Lossless audio and set your options for streaming and downloads. In my tests so far it seems that regardless of my choices I get an HLS package that is the same size each time and presumably contains the same track in the different available resolutions. Note this is downloaded into the Apple Music folder in the media folder. You're not getting an unlocked Apple Lossless version of past purchases or matched tracks.

tt2

Jun 13, 2021 1:31 PM in response to rudolffischer

rudolffischer wrote:

Another question. Does getting HLS packages mean, I can only use the downloads within the Apple Music ecosystem.

I'm pretty sure it does. From About lossless audio in Apple Music - Apple Support:

Can I redownload my iTunes purchases in lossless?