Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Confusion after syncing Apple Music

Hello!

I recently synced my music to the iCloud in order to save storage on my new MacBook Air. I have an Apple Music subscription and was under the impression that this came with music storage for a certain number of songs that did not impact my regular cloud storage. I also assumed that after syncing music to the iCloud it would remove the music from my device, much like when my photos are stored to the iCloud. The music appears to be synced to the iCloud and I can now access it across multiple devices, but is it also still stored to my computer. Am I missing a step? Do I need to delete the music from my computer (and wouldn't that in turn just delete it from the cloud)? Do I just not understand how this works?

Thanks in advance for the help!

MacBook Air 13″, macOS 11.3

Posted on Jul 8, 2021 6:26 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 9, 2021 3:02 PM

Hi kitkaticus,

We understand the confusion with the Sync Library feature of Apple Music, and we're happy to assist.

To get started, you can sync up to 100,000 songs with your Apple Music subscription, and it does not count against iCloud storage, so you are correct there.

As to your music, Apple Music won't automatically delete your downloaded songs when 'Sync Library' is turned on, however so long as 'Sync Library' is turned on, you can manually delete your downloaded music to make space and it won't delete the sync of the files in iCloud.

See more info here:

Cheers!

6 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jul 9, 2021 3:02 PM in response to kitkaticus

Hi kitkaticus,