Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Recursive Subfolder File Renaming using a CSV in Automator/Apple Script

Hello,

Total noob here. I'm trying to automate file renaming ideally in a hot folder, where i can drop a parent folder containing a two column .csv and subfolders and have the shell script parse through and rename everything.

I have tried copying various scripts and combos from different questions, but can only get it to rename files in parent folder. Can anyone help? i've been reading answers on here and on stack overflow all day and i can't make this work.

I copied this code from another answer but don't understand how to add recursion to it?

This is the folder structure i want to use:

And this is what the .csv will look like:

it seems like it should be so simple..and yet...i can't figure it out !

Thanks so much in advance!!

MacBook Pro 16″, macOS 11.5

Posted on Sep 8, 2021 12:54 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Sep 9, 2021 4:59 AM

Laura,

I have modified your original Automator application code and it works exactly like my Zsh solution (which I tossed). The one change is that the CSV needs to look like this (with filename.ext):

Replace all of the code in your Run Shell Script with this code:

#!/bin/bash

cd "$1"
# just find the CSV whereever its at
CSVFILE="$(find $PWD -iname "*.csv")"

# strip quoted CSV fields (if present) and replace CRLF (if present) with LF
# dynamically adapt IFS to different CSV delimiters
while IFS=$'\t,;:|' read oldfile newfile
do
    # per Camelot suggestion to recurse into folder hierarchy and rename there
    find $PWD -name "$oldfile" -execdir mv "$oldfile" "$newfile" \;
done < <(sed -e 's/"//g' < $CSVFILE | tr -d '\r')
exit 0