Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

macOS Monterey takes 25+ minutes to boot

Hi, I wonder if anyone else has the same issue:

Just updated to Monterey from Big Sur - and it takes forever to boot (25+ minutes). Already happened several times.

Before I go through the regular steps for slow boot troubleshooting, I wonder if others have the same issue? And possibly a solution?

iMac 2017 27" 40 GB; 180 GB free space

iMac 27″ 5K, macOS 12.0

Posted on Oct 27, 2021 6:20 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 28, 2021 5:39 PM

Thanks, that's good to know.

My system is also on an external SSD drive. So it appears that Monterey has problems specifically with external drives.

Because I was testing Monterey also on my internal drive and there was no issues (the internal drive is Fusion and I don't use it for real work as it's too slow).

I submitted a bug to Apple.

As a developer I have to upgrade early. Usually there's no issues. But Apple screwed up this time with Monterey.

You mentioned "verbose mode output"... How do you activate it - I'm not familiar with this option?

138 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Oct 28, 2021 5:39 PM in response to CosmicTraveller

Thanks, that's good to know.

My system is also on an external SSD drive. So it appears that Monterey has problems specifically with external drives.

Because I was testing Monterey also on my internal drive and there was no issues (the internal drive is Fusion and I don't use it for real work as it's too slow).

I submitted a bug to Apple.

As a developer I have to upgrade early. Usually there's no issues. But Apple screwed up this time with Monterey.

You mentioned "verbose mode output"... How do you activate it - I'm not familiar with this option?

Oct 28, 2021 2:09 AM in response to leobraun