Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Is Dell P3222qe Compatible with Macbook M1 Pro?

I had problems getting full resolution with an Intel Macbook Pro I5

Any first-hand knowledge or any info on this is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Posted on Nov 20, 2021 5:03 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 26, 2021 11:05 PM

The answer to this case if anyone cares-

Cables Matter. USB-C is the style but there ar many protocols for this shell- Thunderbolt 3 & 4, DisplayPort etc... it's what's inside the cable that counts. Now I'm a newbie that discovered this through pain so if you all new that sorry.

The USB-C port on the Dell 3222qe is DisplayPort 1.4, not 1.2. But the above info got helped find a solution. .

I set up the new M1 MacBook Pro with the USB-C acting as DisplayPort 1.4 and 65 watts will fully charge this 67 watt MacBook Pro M1 14inch 10/16 32 and keep it charged. I am running power through the monitor vi USB-C.

The other ports on the P3222qe hub did not work with the Dell cable- that is until I changed which Thurnderbolt port I had it plugged in. Maybe it was just removing and replacing but I went from the left back to the left front the USB devices on the monitor came to life- BUT not all of them. The audio and video had to be connected directly to the Mac.

Then I turned off the MacBook and replaced the cable with a "Thunderbolt 4/3 and USB-C 3.2/.USB 4 Cable with 40Gbps Data, 8K Video Support, and 100W Charging" by Cable Matters. Everything changed on restart. All the USB ports worked on the monitor which is running 6720 x 3780 in the system report @ 60HZ but I think in reality 3840 × 2160 as shown in in the Mac preferences which I scaled down for my weary eyes. Just visually stunning.

The monitor reported 3840 × 2160 DP1.4 USB 3.2 Gen 1 and HBR3 (High Bit Rate) with the Dell Cable.

With the Hi Def cable it reports 2160p 30bit and same for the rest.