Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Converting old 32 bit to 64 bit Monterey OS won't export in photos

I just found out my old movies can't be exported from photos due to them being 32-bit and not 64-bit. I need a program that will work on my .mov files. Any suggestions and as you can tell I am a novice.

MacBook Pro 15″, macOS 12.0

Posted on Dec 1, 2021 11:26 AM

3 replies

Dec 2, 2021 6:27 PM in response to Becky9139

It's a bit complicated (there are container formats as well as different encoding schemes). I suggest downloading handbrake. Ideally, you will be able to use it to convert your video files to a standard format such as MP4.

If you are able to open the file in QuickTime, you can use the movie inspector tool to show information about the file (see example below).

- Pie Lover

Dec 1, 2021 12:05 PM in response to Becky9139

Photos are just files and as such have no 32 bit or 64 bit architectural aspect. In Monterey you need a 64 bit app to be able to run it, but the built in Photos app is just that. Likewise exportation has no bit architecture requirement.

What exactly, in detail, are you attempting to do and what app or apps are you using?

Dec 2, 2021 4:50 PM in response to ku4hx