Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How can you check if iPhone 4s and iPhone 5s are unlocked?

Hello everyone, this is my first time on this support community.

I have a question I cannot find a clear answer for online.

I have 3 iPhone 4s phones and one iPhone 5s. I need to check whether they are unlocked or locked to a carrier / mobile network. This is because I would like to sell these phones.

I am in the UK. I have access to an EE SIM card that is active and an Orange SIM card that is not active.

Each iPhone 4s has iOS 9.3.6

The iPhone 5s has iOS 12.5.5

Please let me know how I can check the lock / unlock status of each phone for free.

I consider myself to have a good knowledge of iPhones and technology in general, so I should understand any method suggested.

Let me know if any more details are needed. Thank you in advance for the help.

iPhone 4s, iOS 9

Posted on Dec 4, 2021 3:07 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 5, 2021 7:46 AM

Kaiffe wrote:

iPhone 4s (2) - Activation lock asks for an Apple ID and password that I do not know (this phone wasn't originally mine),

This could cause problems (sorry).

The iPhone is Locked To Owner, Activation Lock prevents anyone who is not the owner from using the iPhone.

To unlock that iPhone, you need the Apple ID and password that were used during set up.

Without Apple ID and password that were used during set up that iPhone wouldn't have any value.

it seems like the iPhones are all unlocked,

The iPhones you have tested with your active EE SIM card are therefore unlocked.

10 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Dec 5, 2021 7:46 AM in response to Kaiffe

Kaiffe wrote:

iPhone 4s (2) - Activation lock asks for an Apple ID and password that I do not know (this phone wasn't originally mine),

This could cause problems (sorry).