Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Apple Dictation Doesn't Enter Smart Quotes In Any App Regardless Of System Settings

Apple dictation doesn't enter smart quotes in any app regardless of system settings. I have smart quotes enabled on my MacBook Air. When I type using the keyboard, the system automatically and correctly replaces the straight quotes with curly quotes at both the beginning and end of a sentence. However, when I use Apple Dictation to enter the same quotation marks and text, the system enters them as straight quotes.

This error happens in native Apple apps like Notes and Mail and in external apps like MS Word and Scrivener.

The problem has existed for years through multiple iterations of macOS and on numerous devices. I am an author, so this error becomes tedious and distracting when writing manuscripts over 100,000 words. Having to do a find and replace every time he is less than ideal. I know this functionality is possible as Dragon Dictation did this properly, but it is no longer supported on Mac.

MacBook Air 13″, macOS 12.0

Posted on Dec 9, 2021 8:03 AM

Similar questions

4 replies

Dec 11, 2021 7:22 AM in response to VikingOSX

VikingOSX, thank you for the tip. You unknowingly revealed a different fix. It turns out that while Dictation won't enter smart quotes, but Voice Control will. When I enabled Voice Control after inputting your suggested custom commands, I tried it, but instead of saying Left Double, I fell back into my usual, saying Open Quote by force of habit. When I did, the system entered a smart quote.