Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Apple Music lossless hi-Res songs in my hi-fi system

Could you please let me know how to connect my iMac 27 (year 2020) to my Denon AVR X3400n to listen to hi-Res Apple Music? Is connection of iMac to a DAC, and then to Denon AVR, best way possibile? Can a Music streamer (like Cambridge Audio CXN v2 or Cocktail Audio N25) be used instead of a DAC, having same optimized output? Thanks and regards, Sergio

Posted on Jan 20, 2022 2:24 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 23, 2022 2:27 AM

Yes, music streamers offer a variety of options that can be handy (compatibility with AirPlay, Bluetooth, Roon, DLNA, etc.).

Moreover, often their DAC sections are really good and refined – better, I guess, than AV receivers counterparts (I have to say that I have no experience with AV receivers – it's just seems to me that an audio only device is more focused on audio performances).

You can definitely add a streamer carrying a good DAC in your system for music listening and keep the Denon for video usage. It makes sense, IMO.

3 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 23, 2022 2:27 AM in response to Sergio Barbero

Yes, music streamers offer a variety of options that can be handy (compatibility with AirPlay, Bluetooth, Roon, DLNA, etc.).

Moreover, often their DAC sections are really good and refined – better, I guess, than AV receivers counterparts (I have to say that I have no experience with AV receivers – it's just seems to me that an audio only device is more focused on audio performances).

You can definitely add a streamer carrying a good DAC in your system for music listening and keep the Denon for video usage. It makes sense, IMO.

Jan 22, 2022 1:17 AM in response to Sergio Barbero

In order to play Apple Music in hi-res lossless a DAC is needed.