Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Photos can't find library - macos monterey 12.1 photos error PHPhotosErrorDomain error -1

I have an M1 Mac Mini that's less than 6 months old. Yesterday I upgraded the software to Monterey 12.1. Now Photos can't find the library PhotosLibrary.photoslibrary. I found a directory, "Photos Library.photoslibrary" that I renamed to "PhotosLibrary.photoslibrary". Now I'm get the following error: "The operation couldn’t be completed. (PHPhotosErrorDomain error -1.)." I tried creating a new library but am receiving the same "PHPotosErrorDomain error -1" error.

Thoughts?

Mac mini, macOS 12.1

Posted on Jan 26, 2022 9:32 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 28, 2022 7:07 PM

Renaming definitely wasn't the fix. I'm new to Mac. The last time I used Apple was in the early '80s when I was the company programmer on their Apple 2. Clicking on "/iCloud/Photos/Photos Library 2/photoslibrary" seems to have resolved the issue. At least it found a library it was happy with. It won't allow me to create nor access a previously set up library that's on the drive or on Microsoft OneDrive. I get the aforementioned error: "The operation couldn’t be completed. (PHPhotosErrorDomain error -1.)."

I consider the matter resolved. Thanks!!!

5 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 28, 2022 7:07 PM in response to leroydouglas

Renaming definitely wasn't the fix. I'm new to Mac. The last time I used Apple was in the early '80s when I was the company programmer on their Apple 2. Clicking on "/iCloud/Photos/Photos Library 2/photoslibrary" seems to have resolved the issue. At least it found a library it was happy with. It won't allow me to create nor access a previously set up library that's on the drive or on Microsoft OneDrive. I get the aforementioned error: "The operation couldn’t be completed. (PHPhotosErrorDomain error -1.)."

I consider the matter resolved. Thanks!!!