Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

2021 16 inch macbook pro battery life is 5 ½, out of the box for 1 day.

I received my M1 Pro 16 inch macbook pro yesterday and the battery life is down to 20% after 5 ½ hours of screen on time: listening to music, watching youtube, checking email, and using iMessage.

Unable to contact apple support. I keep getting an error page when trying to set up a call.

Anyone else run into this issue with the battery and/or support?

MacBook Pro (2020 and later)

Posted on Jan 27, 2022 11:45 PM

14 replies

Jan 28, 2022 10:11 AM in response to Grant Bennet-Alder

Most of these replies are absurd. I've been a professional video editor since 2009, this isn't my first Macbook Pro.

CLEARLY it's not a phone.

You are missing the entire point: the purpose of paying the extra money for the larger laptop is the battery life you're supposed to get. Working on the go is why you guy a laptop AT ALL. Otherwise, get a desktop computer (and please don't reply with useless off-point comments of how "I actually prefer a laptop even if I am at home........." that go nowhere).

Explaining how connecting the laptop to AC power works isn't addressing my concern. The main concern being: no one who has been using Macs for over 10 years expects full advertised battery life (21 hours), but when most reviews talk about 17 hours of light use -- and that's what I was using it for, light use -- and you get to 20% battery after 5 ½ hours of Screen On time, THAT is an issue.

Jan 29, 2022 10:06 PM in response to kyrnois

Was able to chat with Apple support & here was the possible issue:

I tried to do a migration with the Migration Assistant from my previous MacBook Pro over wireless, and support told me battery life can suffer for 24 - 48 hours from the time of the migration due to background processes.