Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

PowerPoint slideshow runs full-screen on Windows desktop but not on iPad Pro

I created a presentation with PowerPoint on my Windows desktop (I have a subscription to Microsoft 365), with the documents themselves residing on OneDrive so I can access them anywhere. The slide show runs fine and full-screen on my monitor.

I went over to my 12.9” iPad Pro and loaded up PowerPoint and the presentation which I have access to with OneDrive. I ran the slideshow, and instead of being full screen it displays that black-space-on-top-and-bottom look that indicates some video misalignment. If I tap on the black space at top it opens up a small toolbox at the upper right where you can see that as far as the app is concerned it IS in full-screen mode (the symbol gives you the option to shrink the app to be NON-full screen which makes the slides even smaller).

I poked around online and don’t see anything that is quite on the mark for me. Is there a setting to force PowerPoint to adapt to full-screen mode of whatever device it’s running on? I don’t see anything like that, either in PowerPoint for Windows that I created the slides with, or PowerPoint for iOS that I want to run the slideshow on. I looked at "Presenter View" but that's not relevant.

Any thoughts?

iPad Pro 12.9-inch, 2nd Gen, Wi-Fi

Posted on Feb 22, 2022 6:07 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 22, 2022 6:20 PM

Did you create the presentation in Standard 4:3 format, or widescreen 16:9 format? I'm not sure if you can make changes to those settings in the PowerPoint app on the iPad. I'm checking now but wanted to find out how you created it.

I have mine in Widescreen, but I'm on an iPad Pro 11 and it works just fine. If you have PowerPoint setup in Edit mode, then you can go to Design>Slide Size to check.

Similar questions

3 replies
Question marked as Best reply