Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Moving emails between folders on Mac Mail

I have an iMac and an MBA both with latest software and set up the same.

I use several gmail accounts for my emails - all are IMAP.

I use folders within the gmail accounts.

My problem.

• On my iMac (using the Mac email client), I created a new folder on one of my gmail accounts. I accessed a folder on another gmail account and moved 3 of the emails to the new folder - this worked.
  • The move of emails was reflected on the gmail website via my browser and also my MBA.
  • On my iMac, I then moved about 40 emails from the same original folder to the same target folder. This showed as successful on the iMac.
  • However, the gmail browser session showed all the files had been moved out of the originating folder but they were not moved to the target folder.
  • On the MBA, all emails had also gone from the originating folder but none showed in the target folder. The only emails now showing in the gmail browser and the MBA target folder are the 3 emails that were moved originally.
  • These results are also reflected on my iPhone and iPad.
  • Upon investigating, it looks like this has happened a number of times when moving emails between folders leaving me with empty folders on either iMac or MBA dependent on which device I chose to do the moving on.

Can anybody suggest what this problem is or suggest how I should try and correct it?

Cheers, Roy

Posted on Apr 17, 2022 3:33 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 17, 2022 9:52 AM

After some direction from the above and doing more digging, I have now discovered that the emails that have gone missing in Apple Mail are, as expected, still in gmail via browser. By using the text string has:nouserlabels in the search bar, it lists all of the emails. For me, there looks to be thousands of them (they only show 50 at a time).