Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Problem burning DVDs

Hello!

I am a musician and I burn a lot of DVDs of my own concerts and my own educational material. I use MDRP usually, with no issues. Until about 4 or 5 months ago. I had been still using a MacBook Pro 2012 with Mavericks. No issues...until there were. It became inconsistent. I tried two other LG DVD burners, would work for a bit, then would give me an error. then I'd switch to using the other one, would work for a biit, and then the same thing - it would give me errors.

I seem to have no problem ripping and saving onto an external hard drive.

In January, I bought an MBP M1 Pro Chip;. I also bought ANOTHER DVD burner. Same problem.

I contacted MDRP and they suggested closing MDRP, going directly to the .iso file, right-clicking it, and then choosing Burn DVD from the menu. This is also hit or miss. Once in a while, it works, but most of the time it doesn't. MDRP has told me that if I can burn a disc that way then it is NOT the MDRP software. There has to be a hardware or software issue within my mac.

Since getting my M1 and new DVD burner, I have tried swapping out the USB cable from the external hard drive, I have tried plugging it in directly to my Mac instead of through a hub, I have ripped a video file directly to my internal hard drive, and tried to burn from there - in case there was an issue with the external hard drive, etc. All to no avail.

It seems to me, and I may be way off base, that somehow the software on my old Mac to burn DVDs became corrupted, and then Migration Assistant imported the problem to my new Mac. But, I have no idea how to fix that as I don't know how to redownload just the software that burns DVDs on the mac - only the entire OS.