Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to Sum by Type of Expenses

Please note that I rarely use spreadsheets (total beginner), so please be simplistic and step-by-step in your answers.

I made a "revenues and expenses" document that I want to use to keep track of my sales and expenses, as well as use to fill out my taxes in Canada every year. I made 4 sheets: (1) revenues, (2) expenses by month (screenshot #1), (3) profit, and (4) business expenses by category (screenshot #2).

For each expense on the "expenses by month" sheet (aka Sheet #2/screenshot #1), I made a "Type" column (3rd column in screenshot #1) whereby I used the exact "business expense" name that we need for our tax return in Canada, e.g. Advertising, Supplies, Telephone and Utilities. On the "business expenses by category" sheet (aka Sheet #4/screenshot #2), I want it to add up the items chosen from the drop-down menu in that "Type" column.

Again, the first screenshot is my business expenses for May. The second screenshot has the categories from the drop-down menu of type of expense. I want it to grab the two "Telephone and Utilities" amounts from sheet #2 (Bell and Shaw) where I filled it in by date and have the sum show up here on sheet #4, so I can just copy these amounts onto my tax return.

iMac Pro

Posted on May 8, 2022 1:43 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 8, 2022 3:04 PM

I would go with SUMIFS.

Here the formula based on your example.

The sum will be calculated based on the amount that is in column D, the test will be done based on type in column C and the condition is in the second chart in column A. This formula is in the second chart (Output) in column B (B2, ..., Bx)

Hope that will help you with your problem.

Ralf

Similar questions

9 replies
Question marked as Best reply

May 8, 2022 3:04 PM in response to dickstes

I would go with SUMIFS.

Here the formula based on your example.