Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Photos continue to disappear every time I open Photos after upgrading to Monterey.

Every time I open Photos I see there are blank squares where so many photos used to be. Its disheartening.

I use the CleanMyMac program often because I close to the limit of my storage, so run their clean up every 10 days or so and I have a suspicion that that may have something to do with that.

I am not a techie, in fact I am an older person trying really hard to keep up with all these changes and improvements.

I have back up but am nervous about restoring in case those photos continue to disappear.

Can anybody help or advise me please.

MacBook Pro 15″, macOS 12.6

Posted on Oct 26, 2022 8:00 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 29, 2022 3:52 AM

CleanMyMac may be your problem.

It has been known to cause problems with photos libraries, deleting some of the files internal to the library. I suggest you stop using it. See:

CleanMyMac 3 messed up my photos library - Apple Community

Then restore your library from backup to recover the images that have been damaged.

As an alternative, you might want to consider moving your restored library to an external drive. See here, paying particular attention to the format for the external drive...

Move your Photos library to save space on your Mac – Apple Support (UK)

Similar questions

5 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Oct 29, 2022 3:52 AM in response to ibwendpick

CleanMyMac may be your problem.

It has been known to cause problems with photos libraries, deleting some of the files internal to the library. I suggest you stop using it. See:

CleanMyMac 3 messed up my photos library - Apple Community

Then restore your library from backup to recover the images that have been damaged.