Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Facebook Messenger Not Working on MacBook Air M2 - Shows Continuous "Getting Started" Loop (Dec 12, 2022)

Hello. This is my first time trying this forum. I have tried sending messages to Meta/App reviews etc, but no success.

I am uable to start the Facebook Messenger on my Macbook Air M2 after installation. It keeps showing the "Getting Started" loop with no end, no login / password input fields. I have tried everything: deleting the App, reinstalling it, restarting the Mac. Please advise if there is a way to fix this error.

Thank you!

MacBook Air, macOS 13.0

Posted on Dec 12, 2022 8:00 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 17, 2022 1:27 PM

I had the same problem with the FB Messenger on my MacBook Pro M1 and just found a solution via the YouTube clip https://youtu.be/tEoHoDU3lBA - by deleting 'Messenger Desktop.v1' in the login area of the Keychain Access the Messenger app started working again without having to change my user name.

It is all not very logical to me but at least I hope this offers you a solution, HCH11, to this little but oh so irritating problem.

All the best!

12 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Dec 17, 2022 1:27 PM in response to HCH11

I had the same problem with the FB Messenger on my MacBook Pro M1 and just found a solution via the YouTube clip https://youtu.be/tEoHoDU3lBA - by deleting 'Messenger Desktop.v1' in the login area of the Keychain Access the Messenger app started working again without having to change my user name.

It is all not very logical to me but at least I hope this offers you a solution, HCH11, to this little but oh so irritating problem.

All the best!

Dec 17, 2022 4:21 PM in response to iGaston

This worked finally, yoohoo!