Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Macbook pro 16 2019 cpu stuck at 1.0 ghz when using highly CPU-intensive apps

Hi. I noticed time ago that my macbook pro (16'', 16gb ram, i7 2.6 Ghz 6-core) was very slow on intensive usage.

I am a software engineer and found it normal to be a little bit slow sometimes, but the problem is that it sometimes gets unresponsive, the audio glitches, and transitions and apps get very slow.

I finally found that when I open some high cpu intensive apps such as games or videocalls (minecraft, smashkarts.io for instance, sharing my desktop on a Meet Call), the CPU goes down all the way to 1.0 Ghz and gets stuck there, without being too hot (it stays at 60 degrees Celsius).

It is kind of working the other way round: when load is not too high, the CPU sometimes goes normal (between 2.0 and 4.5 Ghz), but when I try to use an app as I said before, more CPU/GPU intensive, it just goes to the opposite.

I made a EtreChek in case it helps.

Thanks in advance!

MacBook Pro

Posted on Dec 15, 2022 8:47 PM

Similar questions

6 replies

Dec 18, 2022 3:12 PM in response to felipehv

Hi felipehv,

Thank you for posting Apple Support Communities!

You mentioned this is happening when using specific apps, have you check for any app updates that may be available to install?

1. Open the App Store.
  2. In the sidebar, click Updates.
  3. Click Update next to an app to update only that app, or click Update All.

How to manually update apps on your Apple device- Apple Support

Have a good one!

Dec 19, 2022 5:20 AM in response to Trish313

HI Trish,

Thanks for answering.

Finally I decided to take my macbook to be opened up and get the fans cleaned.

I read in other forums that accumulation of dust could have been the problem and many people did it and it solved the problem. Fortunately, that was the problem and now my macbook runs smoother.