Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Transfer music to a different Apple ID

I have for historical reasons 2 Apple IDs:

A) firstname.lastname@icloud.com

B) firstname.lastname@mailprovider.com

I have an Apple Music subscription with B, but would now move it to A.

I have now made a subscription for A, but when I log out of B in Apple Music, and log in to A, I only see the titles which I had ripped from various sources (CDs, Youtube Videos, etc.), but not the ones that I had downloaded from Apple Music. How can I transfer those to my new ID?

MacBook Pro

Posted on Jan 6, 2023 9:18 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 7, 2023 8:03 AM

Thanks a lot Phil0124!

That's what I eventually did, I created an intelligent playlist which filtered for all titles from Apple Music, and stored the URL. I also created intelligent playlists which filtered for 1*, 2*, etc.

Then I logged in with the new ID, imported all titles from the playlist, and set the * rating based on the sub-playlists.

Lots of efforts, but now it works!

2 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 7, 2023 8:03 AM in response to Phil0124

Thanks a lot Phil0124!

That's what I eventually did, I created an intelligent playlist which filtered for all titles from Apple Music, and stored the URL. I also created intelligent playlists which filtered for 1*, 2*, etc.

Then I logged in with the new ID, imported all titles from the playlist, and set the * rating based on the sub-playlists.

Lots of efforts, but now it works!

Jan 6, 2023 9:43 AM in response to Gaston__63

Unfortunately, that is not possible. Tracks downloaded through the Apple Music subscription service are tied to the Apple ID that holds them.

The best you can do is share a text playlist over a message to the other Apple ID.

1.  Open the Apple Music app on your mobile device (iPhone, iPod touch, iPad)
  2. Tap "Playlists" in the "Library" tab.