Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

zsh: permission denied

Hi - I am having the following issue. I am on an M1 Ventura MBP. I have a folder on my desktop and when I drag and drop in Terminal I get a "zsh: permission denied: /Users/tomek/Desktop/Python". I also tried Sudo ... to no effect.

I would be most grateful for any support. None of the solutions on the net work for me. Really weird ...

P.S.: I am not a developer, no Homebrew, no CleanMyMac. I only have Bitdefender AV.

MacBook Pro Apple Silicon

Posted on Jan 23, 2023 9:59 AM

Similar questions

9 replies

Jan 23, 2023 10:58 AM in response to leroydouglas

leroydouglas wrote:

Tomek. wrote:
P.S.: I am not a developer, no Homebrew, no CleanMyMac. I only have Bitdefender AV.

First, there is no reason to ever install or run any 3rd party "cleaning", "optimizing", "speed-up", anti-virus, VPN or security apps on your Mac.  This documents describe what you need to know and do in order to protect your Mac: Effective defenses against malware and other threats - Apple Community and Recognize and avoid phishing messages, phony support calls, and other scams - Apple Support.  

There are no known viruses, i.e. self propagating, for Macs.  There are, however, adware and malware which require the user to install although unwittingly most of the time thru sneaky links, etc.   

Anti Virus developers try to group all types as viruses into their ad campaigns of fear.  They do a poor job of the detecting and isolating the adware and malware.  Since there are no viruses these apps use up a lot of system resources searching for what is non-existent and adversely affect system and app performance.