Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Newsroom Update

Final Cut Pro transforms video creation with Live Multicam on iPad and new AI features on Mac. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to move a video over a mask in Final Cut Pro

Hello, my name is Caden and I am struggling here. I've just switched over from Premiere Pro over to Final Cut Pro X, and I am struggling with the masking system. More specifically, trying to move a video while a mask is over it.

What I mean is, I want to be able to move my video anywhere while my mask stays in the same spot. So the video's position moves while the mask doesn't.

And just a heads up, I am not a professional in this type of software or certified (though I am with PhotoShop). I'm just a hobbyists.

Thank you and have a good day,

-Caden

Mac mini, macOS 13.2

Posted on Jan 24, 2023 6:14 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 24, 2023 6:24 PM

I'm not sure I understand your purpose for doing so, but what you can do to create a "stationary" mask is apply it to what people normally refer to as an "Adjustment Layer". I'm sure you can find one (free) easily. If you have Motion, simply create a new Title template, delete the default text and save as Adjustment Layer (more accurately, it's a Clone Layer - which a photoshop user would understand better.) It will automatically be published to Final Cut (pay attention to the Category option when saving so you can place it and find it in a logical place.)

Clone Layers affect *everything* below them, so if you have media clips and other titles or generators underneath the Clone's level, they will all be accumulated into the Clone.

HTH

Similar questions

4 replies
Question marked as Best reply