Newsroom Update

Apple is introducing a new Apple Watch Pride Edition Braided Solo Loop, matching watch face, and dynamic iOS and iPadOS wallpapers as a way to champion global movements to protect and advance equality for LGBTQ+ communities. Learn more >

Announcement

Introducing the iPad Pro with Apple M4 chip, the redesigned iPad Air in two sizes, and the all‑new Apple Pencil Pro. Watch the event >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iPad rapid battery drain

Hello,

I have an iPad that I have been using for a few years and the product has always worked very well. Recently, (since I updated to iOS 16) the battery will go from 100% charge to 0% in a few hours when I am not using it at all. This has never been the case before.

When I check battery usage, it says thinly App in use is 'Homescreen', which indicates that there are no apps running in the background.

The device is essentially useless now because it doesn't keep any charge whatsoever.

I stress that this issue only began when I updated to iOS 16, so it is a sudden change rather than a gradual degradation of the battery.

Thank you in advance for any help.

iPad Pro, iPadOS 16

Posted on Feb 17, 2023 7:31 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 19, 2023 5:39 PM

This seems to have resolved the problem. Thank you!

3 replies

Feb 17, 2023 7:40 PM in response to niall181