Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iPhone 8 Plus restore failed - iPhone unavailable

Quick recap: iPhone8 Plus, about 1 year ago, I cracked my screen, my home button stopped working, and didn't want to deal with the repair. I ended upgrading to an iPhone 12. Today I attempted to log on to my iPhone8 but apparently, I forgot my passcode. After 4 failed attempts at trying to unlock my iPhone, I gave up and restored it using iTunes. I have never used iTunes before (as my previous restores have been thru iCloud) but I followed the instructions, and it was going smoothly. Upon finishing the restore my phone restarted and a message said, "iPhone unavailable, try again in 8hrs" Why did it do that? Did I do something wrong?

-Lee

iPhone 8 Plus, iOS 15

Posted on Mar 4, 2023 8:13 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 5, 2023 1:20 AM

When trying to restore your iPhone 8 Plus, you encountered an error message stating that the restore failed and that the iPhone is unavailable. This error message could be caused by several factors, including:

1. Network connectivity issues: Ensure that you have a stable and strong internet connection. Poor connectivity can cause interruptions during the restore process, resulting in the restore failure.
  2. Software conflicts: Check that you have the latest version of iTunes installed on your computer. Outdated versions may conflict with the iPhone's software, causing the restore to fail.
  3. Hardware problems: If your iPhone has a hardware problem, such as a damaged battery or charging port, this could cause the restore to fail. Check for any visible damage or take your device to an authorized service center for further assessment.