Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Optimised Battery Charging not working on my Mac M1 after almost 2 years, any suggestions?

Hi everyone, I've been using my Mac M1 for almost 2 years now and I've noticed that Optimised Battery Charging has never kicked in. I know there is a lot of people facing the similar issue and I have tried many tips I could find on the internet but it never worked. Any suggestions what might cause this? (I am running the latest version of macOS)

MacBook Pro 13″, macOS 13.2

Posted on Mar 17, 2023 12:16 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 17, 2023 2:32 AM

david_lo wrote:

Hi everyone, I've been using my Mac M1 for almost 2 years now and I've noticed that Optimised Battery Charging has never kicked in. I know there is a lot of people facing the similar issue and I have tried many tips I could find on the internet but it never worked. Any suggestions what might cause this? (I am running the latest version of macOS)

Exactly which Mac M1 is in question ?

Batteries are considered Consumable Products. Over time it will degrade to a point where it needs to be replaced. The usage is normal as the capacity will go up and down all the time and never stay always at 100%. Apple Batteries are rated for 1000 Full Battery Cycles and / or 80% Capacity before needing Evaluation or replacement.

For additional reading on Battery and Apple Computers this link may help. About battery health management in Mac notebooks and especially for the M1 / M2 and Big Sur  & Monterey  and Ventura If battery charging is paused or on hold on your Mac

Depending on the Age of the computer, some aspects from the above links, may or may not apply to your computer.