iOS 16 App Icon Text Color - changed after 16.4

I'm on an iPhone 8 and just updated to the latest version of iOS (16.4). Upon restart my background is still my same purplish camo custom background I've used for years but the app. icons and top bar color that normally displayed in a legible white for the background color are now registering as a hard to read black/grey. Is there any way to change this back to the traditional white color they've been on previous builds/variants? Is this a bug? I've been using dark mode for awhile so the change was pretty marked and unexpected.

iPhone 8, iOS 16

Posted on Mar 27, 2023 8:17 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 27, 2023 10:04 PM

I opened up the Wallpaper in Settings>Wallpaper and chose "customize" for both the lock screen and main screen. When saving the settings after playing around in each, it remedied the text color from dark grey/black on the purple camo background I had to white on the purple camo background. That was all I was really attempting to remedy.

This is the same background I'd used in prior versions of iOS and I'd never had any issue with the text being dark grey/black. I'd been on iOS 16 for awhile without any concerns or issue. So it was surprising and a bit frustrating that it had changed but apparently going into Settings and customizing both and resaving was what it took to fix this. At least it seemed to in my case.

7 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Mar 27, 2023 10:04 PM in response to TheLittles

I opened up the Wallpaper in Settings>Wallpaper and chose "customize" for both the lock screen and main screen. When saving the settings after playing around in each, it remedied the text color from dark grey/black on the purple camo background I had to white on the purple camo background. That was all I was really attempting to remedy.