Severe Eye Strain due to OLED PWM Dimming

Hello , i have been using iphone for 10 years or so and with changes after iphone X which uses OLED , i am really unable to use my iphone due to PWM dimming which causes severe migraine and dizziness for me in 5mins. I have been stuck on iphone 11 due to LCD panels but i am worried whats going to happen in future since LCD is gone now. Can Apple implement DC dimming via software Update? i have tried 14 pro and it had same problems even though flicker has been reduced but doesnt help. I tried every accessibility option like reduce white point , keeping 100% brightness.

Posted on Mar 29, 2023 1:26 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 14, 2023 10:43 AM

1. I don't believe we're going to get DC dimming for OLED screens as updates.
  2. For those who don't understand what PWM is and how it affects a small groups of people, before asking them to go see an eye doctor, at least read a few articles about how PWM affects their eyes, and in some cases, dizziness and vertigo. Here is a start: https://www.notebookcheck.net/Why-Pulse-Width-Modulation-PWM-is-such-a-headache.270240.0.html
  3. Currently only iPhone SE 3 have LCD screens. The plain iPhone 11 is the last big display iPhone that have LCD and users who are affect by pwm can only use these 2 phones (that is if they can buy an iPhone 11 model). Note that iPhone 11 Pro & Pro Max uses OLED. And any thing from 12 onwards uses OLED.
  4. I am in the same boat as you because I am also affected by the pwm. If apple changes everything to OLED then I just have to say goodbye to iPhone. We are such a small group and I don't think they really care.

Similar questions

74 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Apr 14, 2023 10:43 AM in response to GmXplode

1. I don't believe we're going to get DC dimming for OLED screens as updates.