The file couldn’t be saved because you don’t have permission.

I keep getting the message the file couldn’t be saved because you don’t have permission.


iMac 24″, macOS 13.3

Posted on Apr 25, 2023 5:24 PM

Reply
Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Apr 27, 2023 2:42 PM

Hello Jastu,


We would like to see how we can help you with the permissions on your Mac. Follow the steps in this link to change your permissions: Change permissions for files, folders, or disks on Mac - Apple Support


"Assign permissions to users and groups

  1. On your Mac, select a disk, folder, or file, then choose File > Get Info.
  2. If the information in Sharing & Permissions isn’t visible, click the arrow . (You may also need to scroll down.)
  3. Select a user or group in the Name column, click the pop-up menu, then choose a privilege setting.
    • Read & Write: Allows a user to open the item and change it.
    • Read only: Allows a user to open the item, but not change its contents.
    • Write only (Drop Box): Makes a folder into a drop box. Users can copy items to the drop box, but can’t open it. Only the owner of the drop box can open it.
    • No Access: Blocks all access to the item.

You can undo any changes to privilege settings for a user or group in the Sharing & Permissions section since opening the Info window. Before closing the Info window, click the Action pop-up menu  at the bottom of the window, then choose “Revert changes.”"


Cheers!

1 reply
Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Apr 27, 2023 2:42 PM in response to Jastu

Hello Jastu,


We would like to see how we can help you with the permissions on your Mac. Follow the steps in this link to change your permissions: Change permissions for files, folders, or disks on Mac - Apple Support


"Assign permissions to users and groups

  1. On your Mac, select a disk, folder, or file, then choose File > Get Info.
  2. If the information in Sharing & Permissions isn’t visible, click the arrow . (You may also need to scroll down.)
  3. Select a user or group in the Name column, click the pop-up menu, then choose a privilege setting.
    • Read & Write: Allows a user to open the item and change it.
    • Read only: Allows a user to open the item, but not change its contents.
    • Write only (Drop Box): Makes a folder into a drop box. Users can copy items to the drop box, but can’t open it. Only the owner of the drop box can open it.
    • No Access: Blocks all access to the item.

You can undo any changes to privilege settings for a user or group in the Sharing & Permissions section since opening the Info window. Before closing the Info window, click the Action pop-up menu  at the bottom of the window, then choose “Revert changes.”"


Cheers!

This thread has been closed by the system or the community team. You may vote for any posts you find helpful, or search the Community for additional answers.

The file couldn’t be saved because you don’t have permission.

Welcome to Apple Support Community
A forum where Apple customers help each other with their products. Get started with your Apple Account.