Fragile Macbook Air M2

Has anyone experienced cracked trackpads and chipped screens on a MacBook Air M2? My M2 is 6 months old and I have already had to replace my screen due to a chip, trackpad due to a crack, and keyboard due to an enter key that stopped working.

My M2 is in a hard shell case and I transport it in a padded backpack.

I would think that a computer designed for portability would be more robust in terms of it's durability.

I am a teacher and simply transport it from home to school and back. I use it on my desk.

This is ridiculous. Luckily I have AppleCare. They said in the future, they would have to charge me the $99.00 fee. This is ridiculous for a portable computer to be so fragile.

I can't imagine anyone using this in a rugged environment than at a desk.

My old MacBook Pro never had these issues in the 5 years I owned it. I like the MacBook Air M2 for it's speed and lightness in weight, but the sensitivity to damage is ridiculous.

Posted on May 18, 2023 5:33 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Sep 14, 2023 6:49 PM

Very possibly. I'm all for taking good care of the MBA. But it clearly requires a kid-gloves treatment that no other Mac I've owned (there have been many) ever has. There are too many stories out there of careful folks encountering unexpected, seemingly spontaneous damage to their MBA M2s. Apple made a flimsy laptop and is holding customers responsible. I would certainly never buy one again.

Similar questions

20 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Sep 14, 2023 6:49 PM in response to IdrisSeabright

Very possibly. I'm all for taking good care of the MBA. But it clearly requires a kid-gloves treatment that no other Mac I've owned (there have been many) ever has. There are too many stories out there of careful folks encountering unexpected, seemingly spontaneous damage to their MBA M2s. Apple made a flimsy laptop and is holding customers responsible. I would certainly never buy one again.