iCloud Photos question - part 2

Further to my well answered previous question about iCloud Photos, I have 4 more (sorry).

1) I have an MBA and iMac (both latest OS). The MBA stores a 64GB photos library on its HD and the iMac stores the same (copied between devices) photos library on an external SSD. Q - will iCloud Photos sync to both of these libraries seamlessly?

2) On my MBA, to switch iCloud Photos on, I accessed system settings/Apple ID/iCloud/Photos and expected to see the 'Sync this Mac' switched off as I only currently have the free 5GB of iCloud storage and only 200MB used. It is already switched on. Q - If this is the case, then why isn't my whole photo library trying to sync with iCloud Photos already (which I accept the storage space is not yet big enough to support the whole library)?

3) Do you actually have to log onto your iCloud account and kick start the photo syncing?

4) On the 'Set up and use iCloud Photos' page (HT204264), the forth heading mentions 'Download copies of your photos and videos'. Why would you ever want to do this if photos and videos are synced automatically?

Apologies for the above but I thought it was going to be easy doing this but, as you can see, for me at least it hasn't been as straight forward as I'd have liked.

iMac 27″, macOS 10.13

Posted on May 31, 2023 4:17 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 31, 2023 4:59 PM

1. Any library logged into your Apple ID will sync all photos across all devices. If you have a copy of the library on one system I’d either create a new library or delete the content of one device to avoid issues of duplication. You can create a new library by holding down the option key when opening photos.
  2. it may not have started the process given that you do not have enough space. but, check your settings in the Photos app. Photos - preferences - iCloud and ensure that your library is the system library. Designate a System Photo Library in Photos - Apple Support