Apple’s Worldwide Developers Conference to kick off June 10 at 10 a.m. PDT with Keynote address

The Keynote will be available to stream on apple.com, the Apple Developer app, the Apple TV app, and the Apple YouTube channel. On-demand playback will be available after the conclusion of the stream.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

If my Mac has iCloud Photos on, and I decide to create a new photo library to store older photos not there yet… then make this second photo library my system library and ensure iCloud Photos is turned on again… will it automatically erase the others?

hello, please, I am new to Photos and iCloud Photos. Would you provide me with this advice?

I have subscribed to more iCloud space, hoping I can upload a lifetime of photos there.

My mac has only a small HDD.

Therefore I want to create multiple photo libraries (each not so large to consume most of my HDD) and use each of them to sync and upload their set of photos to iCloud , one each a time.

questions: If my Mac has iCloud Photos turned on , and I decide to create this new photo library to store older photos which were not there yet… then I make this second photo library my system library and ensure iCloud Photos is turned on again… will it automatically erase the other photos uploaded from the initial Photo Library (the one made no longer the system library)?

Or will it keep all of them in iCloud as I intended? Will I see all of them on my other devices?

I guess not and I’m afraid will erase from Cloud the photos of the initial Photo Library… which makes challenging to actually have splitted photo libraries.

MacBook Air

Posted on Nov 4, 2022 3:33 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 4, 2022 8:32 AM

It will erase all the pictures not in your system library. iCloud Photos syncs with your system library-- it subtracts as well as adds to keep them the same.