Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

I can't transfer custom ringtones to my iPhone!

I'm an iPhone 13 Pro Max user. I'm trying to transfer some custom ringtones to the new iPhone with my Windows PC and Mac, but constantly failed. I couldn't find the "Tones" tab on both the music library and my device. Please help me to drop the m4r files savely in my iPhone 13 Pro. Many thanks in advance!

iPhone 14

Posted on Jun 13, 2023 9:04 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 1, 2024 6:58 AM

I spent a couple of days playing around with this and got it to work...

Here is how to add ringtone to iPhone in Sonoma

What I did:

After ringtone is created in Music App open iPhone in New Finder and go to General Tab

Find ringtone in Music App, highlight and then follow dropdown to Show in Finder...

Drag file ("name".m4r) to the iPhone "onto" the General Screen (not the tab)

On iPhone go to General > Sounds & Haptics > Ringtones

Voilà...

Good luck. It worked for me.

24 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Mar 1, 2024 6:58 AM in response to mcfarlin

I spent a couple of days playing around with this and got it to work...

Here is how to add ringtone to iPhone in Sonoma

What I did:

After ringtone is created in Music App open iPhone in New Finder and go to General Tab

Find ringtone in Music App, highlight and then follow dropdown to Show in Finder...

Drag file ("name".m4r) to the iPhone "onto" the General Screen (not the tab)

On iPhone go to General > Sounds & Haptics > Ringtones

Voilà...

Good luck. It worked for me.

Nov 28, 2023 12:00 PM in response to AngelinaHood

Step 5 for Mac: there's no such menu as "settings" in the sidebar, not under Sonoma OS, hence "Tones" are not there either.

Drugging a file just into iPhone under locations seems working, but file is nowhere to be found in my iPhone after sync!

It's utterly ridiculous that such simple thing as a custom ring tone takes so many steps, and even this hassle stopped working silently!