if you delete the thumbnails in People in Photos does it delete the original

If you delete the thumbnails in People in Photos does it delete the original photo?


iMac, OS X 10.11

Posted on Jul 9, 2023 12:26 PM

Reply
Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Jul 10, 2023 3:57 AM

I am not sure, which thumbnails you are asking about - the thumbnails for the people albums of each named person, or the thumbnails inside the album of a person corresponding to the individual photos of the person?

  • when you delete a thumbnail in the people album of a person, the photo linked to this thumbnail will be moved to Recently Deleted and then later deleted from all devices.
  • When you remove the People album of a person from "People", just the person will be hidden, the photos in this people album will remain in your Photos Library.


2 replies
Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Jul 10, 2023 3:57 AM in response to Lizzie621

I am not sure, which thumbnails you are asking about - the thumbnails for the people albums of each named person, or the thumbnails inside the album of a person corresponding to the individual photos of the person?

  • when you delete a thumbnail in the people album of a person, the photo linked to this thumbnail will be moved to Recently Deleted and then later deleted from all devices.
  • When you remove the People album of a person from "People", just the person will be hidden, the photos in this people album will remain in your Photos Library.


This thread has been closed by the system or the community team. You may vote for any posts you find helpful, or search the Community for additional answers.

if you delete the thumbnails in People in Photos does it delete the original

Welcome to Apple Support Community
A forum where Apple customers help each other with their products. Get started with your Apple Account.