Receiving SMS & CALL on IPAD

Hello guys,So recently i decided to do like freelancing job for extra cash. I need an ipad & another phone for my new business number because i dont want to share my private number to public.

So I thought like getting a Wifi & Cellular ipad is the best solution.

However i notice that i cant receive call & Sms Eg OTP from my cellular provider. But when i insert my simcard in my phone every works fine like receiving calls&OTP.

Is there some settings that i missed? This is my first time getting an Ipad Wifi&Cellular. That’s why im abit confused 🥲

iPad (9th generation)

Posted on Jul 20, 2023 9:07 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 20, 2023 9:13 AM

A cellular iPad cannot make or receive phone calls on its own. Maybe this will be helpful.

Make and receive phone calls on iPad - Apple Support

If you want to receive SMS messages, you need to use text message forwarding. This also requires an iPhone.

Forward SMS/MMS text messages from your iPhone to your Mac or iPad - Apple Support

8 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jul 20, 2023 9:13 AM in response to Electus14

A cellular iPad cannot make or receive phone calls on its own. Maybe this will be helpful.

Make and receive phone calls on iPad - Apple Support

If you want to receive SMS messages, you need to use text message forwarding. This also requires an iPhone.

Forward SMS/MMS text messages from your iPhone to your Mac or iPad - Apple Support

Jul 20, 2023 9:26 AM in response to Electus14

Do you have an iPhone - or only an iPad?