Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

iPad overheating when using notes and Apple Pencil

Hi,

I have the 2020 iPad Pro 12.9 inches. I have been using it for education, and recreationally for the past three years. I have recently noticed that it overheats when I am using it to take handwritten notes on the Notes app with my Apple Pencil. It becomes physically hot to touch and I have to take a break so I don’t burn myself. The battery also drains faster. Just now, I went from 67->33% in one hour while using the Notes app and Apple Pencil combination. Usually, the fully charged iPad lasts me two days if I do not take notes. This problem does not happen when I am using the Apple Pencil with other apps (for even longer durations). I have used OneNote, Procreate, Paper by WeTransfer, MediBang Paint, etc.

iPad Pro, iPadOS 16

Posted on Aug 7, 2023 11:16 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 25, 2024 6:28 AM

I have same issues with my iPad Air5(m1) when using notes with pencil.

apple please fix this issue.

Similar questions

25 replies

Jan 28, 2024 5:47 AM in response to LotusPilot

That doesn't explain how only certain tasks, such as using the Apple Notes app with the Pencil, causes the iPad to literally reach burning hot body temperatures unlike with ANY other app of the same kind (e.g. OneNote, ProCreate, GoodNotes, Notability, etc.).

The Apple Notes app, along with the Files app, need a serious fix to be able to better manage memory and power consumption on the iPad.

Dec 15, 2023 3:55 AM in response to sp2369

I agree. The notes app (from what I thought) is a simple app. I take handwritten notes as well, and my iPad mini 6 gets very hot. It hasn’t been to the point where it burns me, but it definitely warms my fingers on a cold day. My iPad doesn’t get this hot for any other task. Including when it was first setup. I even have problems with the notes app making my computer very hot as well. The fans have to turn on.