Alternatives to the Music App on my new Mac, to play my own music collection

I'm new to the Mac environment and I think Apple Music sucks! What's a good alternative?

[Re-Titled by Moderator]

iMac 27″, macOS 13.5

Posted on Sep 2, 2023 7:33 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 22, 2024 6:06 AM

A suitable solution here could be Elmedia Player. It has a folder-based structure, similar to Finder. Also, unlike Apple Music, Elmedia does not require you to upload or sync your files to a cloud service - if you've ever faced this issue, you realize how great it is.

You didn't mention formats or playback quality, but I'll note that it's great in that regard, too.

Next solution - VOX Player. It provides excellent playback choices and FLAC support, although its organization capabilities may not be as extensive as Elmedia player's. But it's worth a shot.

29 replies
Question marked as Best reply

May 22, 2024 6:06 AM in response to Ihor280

A suitable solution here could be Elmedia Player. It has a folder-based structure, similar to Finder. Also, unlike Apple Music, Elmedia does not require you to upload or sync your files to a cloud service - if you've ever faced this issue, you realize how great it is.

You didn't mention formats or playback quality, but I'll note that it's great in that regard, too.

Next solution - VOX Player. It provides excellent playback choices and FLAC support, although its organization capabilities may not be as extensive as Elmedia player's. But it's worth a shot.

Sep 2, 2023 11:13 PM in response to TheLittles

So let me be a bit more precise: