When updating the OS to MacOS Sonoma, the system does not recognize the login and password

I accessed my Mac through MacOS Ventura with the correct password normally, even when it went into screen saver, I always typed the same password to exit it. I received an update proposal for MacOS Sonoma, I updated the system and when logging in with the new operating system, it does not recognize the name and password. I can't get in at all. It appears to be a bug. What do I do to be able to access?

MacBook Pro 16″, macOS 13.5

Posted on Sep 29, 2023 3:07 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 10, 2023 5:01 PM

I wish I didn't upgrade. Honestly, this is ridiculous!! I've been using Macs for over 20 years... this is a first and it's disgraceful to release an upgrade with such an oversight.

29 replies

Oct 22, 2023 5:01 PM in response to rodrigoeidam

Is having multiple users is confusing Sonoma when it asks for login password?

I am not presented which user I am supposed to enter the password for on my work Apple M2 Pro. There is another Admin user configured by my employer. I am also not offered the ability to switch to another user.

I am presented a screen that asks only for a password which fails continuously:

To successfully login on my, I need to:

1. Shutdown completely by holding the power button down until the shutdown occurs.
  2. Wait 30 seconds – for a complete shutdown.
  3. Start the Mac Book and see that I am present both a User as well as a Password field.
  4. Enter both my User and Password and login.

Oct 4, 2023 6:20 PM in response to rodrigoeidam