Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Newsroom Update

Apple and Google deliver support for unwanted tracking alerts in iOS and Android. Learn more >

ProRAW 48 broken on iPhone 15 Pro Max

I am a photographer that recently upgraded from iPhone 14 Pro Max to 15 Pro Max. I immediately noticed issues using the ProRAW 48 format on my new device. Images are blurry and considerably worse in detail comparing to ProRAW 48 on my 14 Pro Max.

This is a comparison between ProRAW 48 in the regular camera app (first image from the left), ProRAW 48 using the third party app "ProCamera" (middle image) and lastly HEIC 24MP from the regular camera app (last one to the right).

It seems ProCamera manages a little better than the built-in camera app, but they both lack so much detail comparing to HEIC 24MP. ProRAWs have a super compressed look with almost no detail or texture at all.

Another example (images in the same order):

Of course I know that the ProRAWs must be edited and processed (as HEIC is already automatically processed by the camera software). I have shot over 10000 ProRAWs with my 14 Pro Max and I know very well how it performs. This is not even close. There is not a chance that I can achieve the same level of detail with ProRAW 48 as HEIC 24MP or even ProRAW 48 from iPhone 14 Pro Max.

Surely something must be bugged here, and before I try to get my phone replaced, I was curious to hear if anyone had the same issue and found some solution.

I have done the regular checks like resetting the phone to factory defaults and then setting it up without restoring an iCloud backup - absolutely no difference. I am running 17.0.3.