Macbook Pro vs Macbook Air

Hi,

I am new here and want to buy a Macbook. I'm a Software Engineer working as a Hybrid Mobile Application developer for Android and iOS. I want to buy a Macbook but I'm confused about which Macbook is best for me Macbook Air or Macbook Pro with the following specs, 8 GB RAM, 256 GB memory with m1.

Please tell me which is best for me because somebody told me that Macbook Air is not for running Xcode.

Posted on Nov 24, 2023 5:19 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 24, 2023 9:19 AM

techzohaib wrote:

Just one little question more, can a Macbook Air also runs Xcode in it? Because somebody said me that MacBook Air is not supported for Xcode. Is it right?

I don't know of any reason why a M2 MacBook Air could not run Xcode, if configured with enough RAM and SSD space.

A 14" or 16" MacBook Pro based on a M3 Pro or M3 Max chip would have

• More CPU cores / greater ratio of "performance" CPU cores to "efficiency" ones (for long batch compile jobs)
  • The potential to be ordered with larger amounts of RAM
  • Active cooling
  • The ability to drive a couple of external monitors, instead of just one

Some of these advantages would also apply to older 14" and 16" MacBook Pros based on the M2 Pro and M2 Max chips. The Apple Certified Refurbished Store might have such MBPs, for 15% off their original list price.

9 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Nov 24, 2023 9:19 AM in response to techzohaib

techzohaib wrote:

Just one little question more, can a Macbook Air also runs Xcode in it? Because somebody said me that MacBook Air is not supported for Xcode. Is it right?

I don't know of any reason why a M2 MacBook Air could not run Xcode, if configured with enough RAM and SSD space.

A 14" or 16" MacBook Pro based on a M3 Pro or M3 Max chip would have

• More CPU cores / greater ratio of "performance" CPU cores to "efficiency" ones (for long batch compile jobs)
  • The potential to be ordered with larger amounts of RAM