If you have photos on your phone that were synced to the phone from a computer (by using iTunes or Finder) those photos will be deleted from the phone if you turn on iCloud Photos.
The photos would typically still be on the computer they were synced from as iTunes or Finder syncing is designed for the photos to be on both devices. However it is possible that you deleted to photos from the computer.
If the photos are still on the computer, after you turn on iCloud Photos on the phone and the photos are deleted from the phone, you can then upload them to iCloud from the computer and they will automatically sync back to the phone.