Newsroom Update

Tap to Pay on iPhone is now available in Canada. Learn more >

Iphone 7 running IOS 15.8.2 paying for apps i cannot access because they work on ios 16 and above

Iphone 7+ running IOS 15.8 is slowly being shut out of Apps i pay to use. Both times the Apps requested that I update my App. When I did i was told the App only works on IOS 16 and above.First it was T-Mobile and today it was the New York Times.

don’t suggest i upgrade my phone. the phone works fine.

iPhone 7 Plus, iOS 15

Posted on May 4, 2024 8:13 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 6, 2024 8:42 AM

Actually no...not an acceptable option as I have been paying for these apps.

I had the same issue with the NYT app on my ipad. ipad works fine even though i know it is "old" NYT updated their app to require iOS 16 and did not give me an option to either opt out, not upgrade or go back to the previous version. Now I can't open it at all.

I'm a sw developer....this is a backward compatibility issue where there was no notification of EOL. not acceptable at all.

11 replies
Question marked as Best reply

May 6, 2024 8:42 AM in response to ZintainUSA

I had the same issue with the NYT app on my ipad. ipad works fine even though i know it is "old" NYT updated their app to require iOS 16 and did not give me an option to either opt out, not upgrade or go back to the previous version. Now I can't open it at all.

I'm a sw developer....this is a backward compatibility issue where there was no notification of EOL. not acceptable at all.

May 4, 2024 8:16 PM in response to 75gator

The phone may work fine, but it will not support any iOS version above 15.8.2. It will NOT run iOS 16 so the apps that are not allowing you to update due to the fact that you don't have iOS 16 are going to fade out. The only option you have is to purchase a new phone with newer and more powerful hardware that can run the OS version that you need.

May 6, 2024 9:01 AM in response to stacnelson

stacnelson wrote: