Leaving iCloud+ Family Plan and Photos Preservation

Hello, I am current a member of a family plan. I intend to setup my own family plan with siblings within my household. I was wondering if I leave the current plan(I am using about 200gb at the moment), will my photos and stuff be gone immediately before I setup a new family sharing plan?


[Re-Titled by Moderator]

iPhone 16, iOS 18

Posted on Nov 6, 2024 8:04 AM

Reply
Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Nov 7, 2024 5:01 AM

Read this about leaving a family group. Leave Family Sharing - Apple Support


Take out personal subscriptions to any services you use before leaving the first group. With things such as Apple Music, there is immediate loss of things such as playlists. With photos, what happens is more unclear. Read the section "What happens when you downgrade or cancel iCloud+" in this support article Downgrade or cancel your iCloud+ plan - Apple Support If you do not upgrade first, to me it appears that you do not actually lose content but your ability to add anything is disabled until you drop below the free level again. It could also be that after a period of time Apple might then remove content. However, in your case since you plan on taking out higher subscription level you might as well do it before leaving the current family to ensure a smooth transition.


Something to remember about iCloud storage is it isn't really a proper backup. It is designed more as a syncing service. Personally I would make sure that if you really do have 200 GB of photos that you also buy a hard drive (or two, in case one fails) and store them on it too.


3 replies
Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Nov 7, 2024 5:01 AM in response to biodraft

Read this about leaving a family group. Leave Family Sharing - Apple Support


Take out personal subscriptions to any services you use before leaving the first group. With things such as Apple Music, there is immediate loss of things such as playlists. With photos, what happens is more unclear. Read the section "What happens when you downgrade or cancel iCloud+" in this support article Downgrade or cancel your iCloud+ plan - Apple Support If you do not upgrade first, to me it appears that you do not actually lose content but your ability to add anything is disabled until you drop below the free level again. It could also be that after a period of time Apple might then remove content. However, in your case since you plan on taking out higher subscription level you might as well do it before leaving the current family to ensure a smooth transition.


Something to remember about iCloud storage is it isn't really a proper backup. It is designed more as a syncing service. Personally I would make sure that if you really do have 200 GB of photos that you also buy a hard drive (or two, in case one fails) and store them on it too.


This thread has been closed by the system or the community team. You may vote for any posts you find helpful, or search the Community for additional answers.

Leaving iCloud+ Family Plan and Photos Preservation

Welcome to Apple Support Community
A forum where Apple customers help each other with their products. Get started with your Apple Account.