Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Why Do I Have To Render EVERYTHING In FCE

I am brand new to Mac and FCE and i just switched from my PC and Sony Vegas because I've been told a million times that Mac is the way to go for video editing, and well right now I am having major doubts. I opened my HD file that i am going to work on and i pressed play on the canvas and it said "Unrenderd". I've been searching the internet, forums, manual and i cant find an answer that helps me 100%! Can someone please explain to me what i am doing wrong.

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.5)

Posted on Jan 2, 2011 7:33 PM

23 replies

Jan 3, 2011 9:58 AM in response to DerekBrackett

DerekBrackett wrote:
ok so after I change the settings will the video stay like that or will i have to do that everytime i make an edit (like add an effect, make a cut, etc..)

I assume, you miss the concept how FC/e handles any material:
the clips (a+v) have to 'fit' the setting BEFORE you import them into FC/e.

FC/e doesn't change formats - that is quite different to other editors like iMovie.

• choose a format in FC/e
• convert your material with any converter you like
• 'import' to FC/e
=> no rendering on 'edit', aside you add complex compositings, effects etc.

Jan 3, 2011 10:50 AM in response to DerekBrackett

DerekBrackett wrote:
... But why is it like that? ..

consumer = convenience
You don't have to think about codecs, sampling rates, aspect ratio with iMovie - any 'fidget pictures' get converted. plug'n play.