Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Scrolling iPad User Guide

I'm new to the iPad and have uploaded the iPad User Guide so I can have it close by for all the questions I have. In order to use this guide which has about 174 pages, how is the fastest way to go from page one to any of the 174 pages remaining? I see there is a small rectangular bar on the left side of the file but it does not respond when I try to move it. Trying to get from page 6 to 92 (e.g.) it takes a VERY long time doing it manually. Is there an easier way to do this? On my iMac Intel the problem does not exist since you can relocate the blue bar quickly.

Posted on Apr 24, 2011 6:46 AM

20 replies

Apr 25, 2011 3:53 AM in response to Randall De Trinis1

If you are reading the manual on the iPad and not your Mac, the user guide can be downloaded as a free book in iBooks ... not as a pdf. It is much easier to navigate through the chapters and pages as a book. Also the app, iBooks is a free app so you can download the free app and the free iPad user manual book.

When you read a book in the iBooks app you can scroll through the book by tapping on a bar that will appear at the bottom of the open book. You just slide the bar left or right to move forward in the book or to a previous spot.

There is also a search area in the upper right corner. A magnifying glass is the search icon and it looks like the icon for Spotlight in the Mac OSX so its easily recognizable.

I would recommend (and so would King Penguin) that you download the app and the book. They are both very handy to have. You can also save pdf files that you receive via email in iBooks and you can save the pdf files in the app as well.

To help get you started in iBooks ...To open a book in iBooks, simply tap on the book. To close the book and put it back on the shelf, tap the word Library (on the opened book) in the upper left corner.